Reviews

9.2
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.5
Comfort
9.3
Property location
9.4
Facilities
9.2
Staff
9.7
Value
8.3

Reviews

    de

    Review score

    9.6
    20 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    ADJ
    ch

    Review score

    10
    20 May 2018

    ADJ

    nothing
    great service & fabulous food
    Vinod
    au

    Review score

    10
    11 May 2018
    Good Old School Japanese Experience. Good location 10 minutes walk from station and 2 minutes walk to old town.Custom service and delicious food.
    Raymond
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    5 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Bernhard
    ch

    Review score

    9.6
    30 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    David
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    25 April 2018
    Nothing.
    Felt high quality and exclusive. Staff were great and I felt well looked after yet given plenty of space as well. One of the best places I’ve stayed in. Highly recommend the suite.
    Kylie
    nz

    Review score

    10
    23 April 2018

    Amazing.

    Onsen could be better, but this isn't really an onsen town so it's understandable.
    Amazing staff, wonderful Japanese dinner and breakfast. Special thanks to our room attendant Tomomi! They picked up our luggage from the train station so we could explore Takayama freely, then picked us up later when we were ready to check in. The room was luxurious - we stayed in a Junior Suite, the futons were super comfortable and there was a big jacuzzi. Overall, we would absolutely stay here again. I only wish we could have stayed longer!
    id

    Review score

    10
    20 April 2018

    One of the best hotel with Japanese hospitality tradition and service

    Nothing
    Almost perfect service. They pick and send you to the train station, they serve and try hard to comfort you. Guest is "King" Full service traditional dinner and breakfast was superb.
    sg

    Review score

    10
    15 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    au

    Review score

    10
    12 April 2018

    Great hotel with friendly staff. Value for money! Highly recommend!

    N/A
    Great service. Excellent food. Clean hotel.
    James P
    au

    Review score

    7.5
    31 March 2018

    Highs and Lows

    it's in need of a full renovation - looking very tired and dated.
    In room onsen, sun room, size of the room in general. Breakfast and dinner fantastic. Staff were lovely - great memory for who you were and any special requests.
    Kaede
    hk

    Review score

    9.2
    10 March 2018

    Once in a lifetime.... you gotta spend this money!

    Nothing!
    Staffs are absolutely helpful! I have left a necklace in room and the staffs were very nice to arrange the delivery to the next hotel I was going to stay.
    Cindy
    sg

    Review score

    9.0
    4 March 2018
    Wonderful old world charm. Not slick or polished but the fantastic staff guest ratio makes you feel really well taken care of. They remember you from the moment you step in. As a repeat guest, check in meant being met at the entrance and walked to the room, no papers. No security charge on card to bother with. Toyo took great care of us. Onsen could be more spectacular but the ratio means you have the place to yourself most times. Kids menu could be more flexible. Should’ve option to pass on dinner for 2nd night.
    us

    Review score

    10
    23 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Alan
    my

    Review score

    5.4
    5 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Christine
    us

    Review score

    8.8
    27 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Douglas
    us

    Review score

    9.2
    25 April 2018

    get the Japanese Breakfast!

    Real deal Japanese experience. Very friendly staff and comfortable experience.
    PATIKHOM
    th

    Review score

    10
    19 April 2018
    Nothing special, but if the parking is available on site, it would be great, but the valet is already great.
    Great experience, good food, good room, good onsen, Everything is good!
    Renee Dineen
    us

    Review score

    9.2
    7 April 2018

    Truly something special

    The hotel is in need of some remodeling, especially the lobby and the rooms. They also allow smoking in the lobby and in some rooms which was surprising, so the smell permeates throughout.
    From the moment you enter the hotel and the big drum strikes, you know you are somewhere special. The staff is exemplary. The choices for onsens (three for woman, two for men) are wonderful, clean and serene. The food is prepared with passion and care. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The robes and afternoon tea and sweets are a special treat. It is like stepping into another time. You can't help but feel welcome and cared for.
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    3 April 2018

    Amazing collection of Hina dolls! Great location!

    We couldn’t have westren meal instead of the Japanese meal.
    A great hotel in the middle of charming Takayama, features amazing collection of Hina dolls! The staff was very nice and communicates well in English. The hot spring is nice, we only tried the one in the hotel (there is another one in the Neighbour hotel). Great location and nice decor. We loved it.
Loading reviews